May 2019


American Idol Laine Hardy greeted students, faculty and hometown residents during a pep rally at French Settlement High School on May 14, prior to the show’s finale when he named the season’s top winner.

Newly crowned American Idol Laine Hardy, a 2018 graduate of French Settlement High School, recently made a return visit to Livingston Parish as part of the show’s finale that featured hometown visits for the top three contestants. Hardy enjoyed a pep rally at the French Settlement High School gym that was attended by students and faculty from the local elementary and high schools, parents, community leaders and adoring fans.  From there, he participated in a parade and rally at the Livingston Parish Fair Grounds before visiting with Gov. John Bel Edwards and legislators at the State Capitol and Governor’s Mansion in Baton Rouge. Hardy was a top vote-getter week-to-week and consistently garnered praise from “Idol” judges Lionel Richie, Luke Bryan and Katy Perry.  Hardy was named the new “American Idol” on the show’s May 19 finale.



Livingston Parish Public Schools recognized the district’s top Student of the Year winners in grades 5, 8 and 12, as well as those students from each of the parish’s schools, at a special awards ceremony on May 7.

“This is one of my favorite events, because we get to recognize some of the best and brightest that Livingston Parish Schools has to offer,” Superintendent Rick Wentzel said.

The parish’s top three 2019 Student of the Year winners include, left to right, Elementary Student of the Year Collin Sprouse, a fifth-grader at South Walker Elementary; High School Student of the Year Cade Canepa, a senior at Live Oak High School; and Middle School Student of the Year John Bergeron, an eighth-grader at North Corbin Junior High. All three winners competed in the state’s regional competition, with Sprouse advancing to be a state finalist in the elementary division.


Livingston Parish’s High School Student of the Year winners include, pictured left to right:  Alessa Clark, Doyle High School; Max Brown, Denham Springs High; Katie Miranda, Albany High School; Ava Borskey, Maurepas School; Cade Canepa, Live Oak High School; Emily Seighman, Walker High School; Alyssa Blount, Holden High School; Andrew Larpenter, Springfield High School; and Sara Cavalier, French Settlement High School.


Livingston Parish’s Middle School Student of the Year winners include, pictured left to right: (front row) Madelyn Morgan, Doyle High School; Clancy Morrison, Albany Middle School; Madalyn Harris, Juban Parc Junior High School; Autumn Herring, Holden School; Annabelle Fontenot, Westside Junior High School; Reaghan McMorris, French Settlement High School; James Ernest, Maurepas School; (back row) Kassidy Herrin, Southside Junior High School; John Bergeron, North Corbin Junior High; Sylvia White, Live Oak Junior High School; Nicholas Bowden, Denham Springs Junior High School; and Katie Riddle, Springfield Middle School.


Livingston Parish’s Elementary Student of the Year winners include, pictured left to right: (front row) Donovan Rogers, Albany Middle School; Baron Markwood, Gray’s Creek Elementary; Rachel Henry, Live Oak Middle School; Mialize Otero-Grey, Juban Parc Elementary; Brooklyn Kersey, Doyle Elementary; Collin Sprouse, South Walker Elementary; Celia Cecchini, Seventh Ward Elementary; Natalie Almand, North Corbin Elementary School; John Rodriguez, Maurepas School; Kaliyah Fynaut, Springfield Middle School; Clayton Watson, South Fork Elementary; (back row) Allie Duplantis, Walker Elementary; Summer Tillery, Springfield Middle School; Ava Mulholland, French Settlement Elementary; Miriam Kieronski, Freshwater Elementary; Ryan Luu, Denham Springs Elementary; Jenna Holman, Levi Milton Elementary; Mollie Bailey, Holden School; Angelina Bowden, Northside Elementary; and Parker Mitchell, Lewis Vincent Elementary.  Not pictured is Kaelyn Williams, Eastside Elementary.



Livingston Parish School Superintendent Rick Wentzel recently presented Walker High School Senior Shelbi Carroll with the Region II Louisiana Superintendents Association Scholarship Award. The award included a $250 cash award.