June 2019


Livingston Parish’s school teachers and staff workers will get larger paychecks, and the district will get more money for operations, thanks to legislation passed during the 2019 General Legislative Session.

Under the agreed financing formula, teachers and other certificated personnel will get a $1,000 pay raise and staff works will receive a $500 pay raise.  The State Legislature also allocated an extra $39 million in discretionary money to all the state’s school districts, growing the per-student allocation from $3,961 to $4,015 for next school year.

State Rep. J. Rogers Pope, R-Denham Springs, handled the legislation in the House of Representatives and pushed for his fellow House members to give it their support.

“All of the school people I have had conversations with say this is what they want, and this is what I am advocating,” Pope said, noting that the increased funding will be made available to school districts beginning July 1, 2019, which marks the start of the 2019-2020 fiscal year.



Livingston Parish Public Schools recently recognized the district’s Teacher of the Year winners from each school during a special ceremony at Revival Temple Church in Walker.

The parish’s 2020 Teacher of the Year winners include, left to right, High School Teacher of the Year Vickie Eaves, Denham Springs High School; Middle School Teacher of the Year Shannon Graham, Frost School; and Elementary Teacher of the Year Candace Shaidee, Live Oak Elementary.


All teachers who were named 2020 Teacher of the Year winners at their respective schools include:

Elementary Schools — Yvette Schilling, Albany Lower Elementary; Scarlet Starkey, Albany Upper Elementary; Tiffany Spears, Denham Springs Elementary; Alicia Murkowski, Doyle Elementary; Heather White, Eastside Elementary; Shyla Cochran, French Settlement Elementary; Stephanie Dufrene, Freshwater Elementary; Shannon Graham, Frost; Brittany Kelley, Gray’s Creek Elementary; Sarah Davidson, Holden; Jennifer Davenport, Juban Parc  Elementary; Tracey Carter, Levi Milton Elementary; Casey Nickens, Lewis Vincent Elementary; Candace Shaidaee, Live Oak Elementary; Christy Boston, North Corbin Elementary; Angie McKey, North Live Oak Elementary; Kellie Bridgers, Northside Elementary; Tiffany Battistella, Seventh Ward Elementary; Rachel Chavers, South Fork  Elementary; Pamela Lang, South Live Oak Elementary; Claire Michel, South Walker Elementary; Jessica Puissegur, Springfield Elementary; Ashley Newell, Southside Elementary; and Gorgon Nickens, Walker  Elementary.

Middle Schools — Juliette Shackleford, Albany Middle; Pam Robichaux, French Settlement; Shannon Graham, Frost; Kim Arnett, Holden High; Robin Howard, Juban Parc Junior High; Jennifer Sibley, Live Oak Junior High; Lauren Courville, Live Oak Middle; Susan Vallarautto, North Corbin Junior High; Leanne Payne, Southside Junior High; Morgan Duplantis, Springfield Middle; and April Jones, Westside Junior High.

High Schools — Krista Campbell, Albany High; Julie Dupuy, Denham Springs Freshman High; Vickie Eaves, Denham Springs High; Michelle Glascock, Doyle High; Cindy Harmon, Holden High; Jessica Haynes, Live Oak High; Laci Williams, Maurepas High; Sara Short, Springfield High; Holly Bernard, Walker Freshman; and Andrew Pullman, Walker High.



The parish’s 2020 Principal of the Year winners also were recognized in May at a special ceremony.

The top winners are, pictured left to right: Elementary Principal of the Year Gail DeLee, Denham Springs Elementary; Middle School Principal of the Year Greg Hayden, Juban Parc Junior High; and High School Principal of the Year Kim Albin, Literacy & Technology Center.


Hayden is a top finalist for the Louisiana Principal of the Year. He will join the state’s other top eight principal finalists at the 13th Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Symposium and Celebration on July 19 in Baton Rouge to learn who is named the overall winner.



The Livingston Parish School System on May 24 held an appreciation luncheon and prize give-away for more than 200 employees who managed and provided day-to-day transportation for the district’s nearly 26,000 students during the 2018-2019 school year.

Lt. Gov. Billy Nungesser attended the event, which was held in the transportation building, located behind the central administrative office in Livingston.  His office collaborated with the Louisiana Seafood Association to provide the fish and shrimp that were served at the event.

Also, during the drawings for door prizes, Nungesser gave away 10 three-night stays at the winners’ choice of state parks and campgrounds across the state.  “We hope this event is the first of what becomes a tradition,” Assistant Superintendent Stephen Parrill said.  “We want to do this event to honor the work that is done for us each and every day.”

Lt. Gov. Billy Nungesser speaks to more than 200 bus drivers, mechanics, school employees and community leaders during the appreciation luncheon at Livingston Parish Public Schools.  Nungesser’s office teamed up with the Louisiana Seafood Association to provide the fresh fish and shrimp that were served at the event.




Pictured from left to right are Laura Dunlap, principal of Seventh Ward Elementary; Mary Carlin, A+PEL officer (Livingston Parish Chapter); Brittney Rogers, Livingston Parish Volunteer of the Year; Tiffany Battistella, a teacher and nominator of the volunteer of the year; and Bridget Castille, assistant principal of Seventh Ward Elementary.  Rogers is one of the school’s most involved parents.