May 2020


Livingston Parish Schools is offering its students a Summer Enrichment Program from May 26 to June 17 to better prepare them for the next level of math and English/language arts instruction they will receive in the upcoming school year.

This 17-day program, which is open to students currently in Kindergarten through 8th grade, will also serve as a pilot effort for the district to better prepare for continuous remote learning that may be necessary in the coming school year.

Supervisor of Instruction Kelly LaBauve said the program will utilize virtual instruction that will be administered for an hour and 30 minutes each weekday, per subject. Students can sign up for instruction in both math and English/language arts.  She said approximately 2,600 students qualify for the program. The district has set specific criteria for participation and principals have begun reaching out to eligible students.

“This new enrichment program is designed to help close learning gaps that may exist and support our goal of having all students ready to learn at the beginning of the next school year,” LaBauve said.



Livingston Parish Schools has been awarded a $4.4 million federal grant under the CARES Act (Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security Act), to be invested in three priority areas:

(1) to continuously maintain clean and disinfected campuses;

(2) to increase the number of computers and laptops available to students, bringing the district to a “better than” one-to-one student-to-computer ratio; and

(3) to improve student access to Internet and WiFi services through investments in on-campus and off-campus access points and hotspots, thereby enhancing the reach and clarity of the district’s continuous distance learning efforts.

Superintendent Joe Murphy said the district hopes to make all technology and device purchases this summer and have them in place this fall.



The district’s 2020 Student of the Year winners are Bryce Felps, a senior at Maurepas High School; Reese Kennedy, an 8th grader at Denham Springs Junior High; and Evelynn Artieta, a 5th grader at South Walker Elementary.  All three winners competed among nominees throughout they parish.  As the parish winners, they went on to compete in the state’s regional competition, with Kennedy advancing to be a state finalist in the middle school division.

All those Livingston Parish students who were named 2020 Student of the Year winners at their respective schools include:

12th Grade — Grace Purvis, Albany High; Sophie Faircloth, Denham Springs High; Kayleigh Smith, Doyle High; Gabrielle Blanchard, French Settlement High; Carter Alphonso, Holden High; Emily Rushing, Live Oak High; Bryce Felps, Maurepas; Brielle Lee, Springfield High; and Abby Selser, Walker High.

8th Grade — Emma Rogers, Albany Middle; Reese Kennedy, Denham Springs Junior High; Isabella Ferguson, Doyle Junior High; Berkleigh Cormier, French Settlement High; Emma Roshto, Frost; Victoria Hill, Holden Junior High; Casey Winter, Juban Parc Junior High; Brianna Burns, Live Oak Junior High; Brooklyn Jones, Maurepas; Valerie Gautreaux, North Corbin Junior High; Drew Partin, Southside Junior High; Melanie Fletcher, Springfield Middle; and Madison Eymard, Westside Junior High.

5th Grade – Paul Hoyt, Albany Middle; Natalie Robertson, Denham Springs Elementary; Allie Savant, Doyle Elementary; Lily LaBauve, Eastside Elementary; Madison Hill, French Settlement Elementary; Ryan Gelpi, Freshwater Elementary; Kahne Lawless, Frost; Owen Waguespack, Gray’s Creek Elementary; Presley McKinney, Holden Elementary; Adina Bantea, Juban Parc Elementary; Evelynn Artieta, Levi Milton Elementary; Emmarie Peak, Lewis Vincent Elementary; Hudson Hunter, Live Oak Middle; Malloy Miles, Maurepas; Kenley Arledge, North Corbin Elementary; AliBeth Tanner, Northside Elementary; Sadie Foster, Seventh Ward Elementary; Isabelle Olinde, South Fork Elementary; Meredith Lee, South Walker Elementary; Hanna Medero, Southside Elementary; Riley Jones, Springfield Middle; and Micah Thibodeaux, Walker Elementary.



Michelle Booth, Elementary Teacher of the Year

Melissa Belgard, Middle School Teacher of the Year

Eric Fasbender, High School Teacher of the Year







Julie Dugas, Elementary Principal of the Year

Bryan Wax, Middle School Principal of the Year

Kris Rountree, High School Principal of the Year









The 2020 Teacher of the Year and 2020 Principal of the Year winners for Livingston Parish Public Schools respectively include: Elementary Teacher of the Year Michelle Booth, Juban Parc Elementary; Middle School Teacher of the Year Melissa Belgard, Denham Springs Junior High; and High School Teacher of the Year Eric Fasbender, Live Oak High School; and Elementary Principal of the Year Julie Dugas, Freshwater Elementary; Middle School Principal of the Year Bryan Wax, Denham Springs Junior High; and High School Principal of the Year Kris Rountree, Holden High School.  All parish winners competed in the state’s regional competition, with Wax advancing as a state finalist for Louisiana’s Middle School Principal of the Year.

The top three teachers were selected from nominees from schools across the parish.  Those teachers earning Teacher of the Year honors at their respective schools include:

High Schools – John Legoria, Albany High; Melissa McCaa, Denham Springs Freshman High; Stacey Thomasson, Doyle High; Jennifer Vulgamore, Holden High; Eric Fasbender, Live Oak High; Jo Lynn Hegwood, Walker Freshman; and Bridget Albright, Walker High.

Middle Schools — James Pechon, Albany Middle; Melissa Belgard, Denham Springs Junior High; Jennifer Kemp, Holden Middle; Rebeka Fairburn, Juban Parc Junior High; Robyn Lee, Live Oak Junior High; Janet DeLee, Live Oak Middle; Melissa Anderson, Maurepas; Robin Skinner, North Corbin Junior High; Meghann Ringo, Southside Junior High; Erica Ablak, Springfield Middle; and Alicia Guidry, Westside Junior High.

Elementary Schools – Cheryl Criswell, Albany Lower Elementary; Michelle K. Stewart, Albany Upper Elementary; Janine Archer, Denham Springs Elementary; Mallory Craig, Doyle Elementary; Pam Davis, Eastside Elementary; Anthony Elliot, French Settlement Elementary;  Shannon Seal, Freshwater Elementary; Lindsey Lee, Gray’s Creek Elementary; Shawn Wascom, Holden Elementary; Michelle Booth, Juban Parc Elementary; Emily Artieta, Levi Milton Elementary; Chantel Waguespack, Lewis Vincent Elementary; Tammy Harvin, Live Oak Elementary; Jessica Janis, Maurepas; Jhann Ratliff, North Corbin Elementary; Sealy Pettavino, North Live Oak Elementary; Jeanette Hogan, Northside Elementary; Buffie Harrell, Seventh Ward Elementary; Elizabeth Abbott, South Fork Elementary; Angie Elkins, South Live Oak Elementary; Kayleigh Wells, Springfield Elementary; Angelle Maher, Southside Elementary; and Amber Guillot, Walker Elementary.